EUC Basketball 2015 concluded
The 13th European Universities Basketball Championship concluded on 27th June 2015 with an exciting Closing Ceremony at Arena OS Koper in the center of the City of Koper where also the University of Primorska is situated.

Over 400 participants from 24 Universities from 14 countries took part in this year’s edition of the event which started on June 20.

In men’s finals, the title of the champion went to Fatih University (TUR) who won a thrilling final match against the University of Nis (SRB).

In women finals, the title of the champion went to the University of Zagreb (CRO), winning the University of Warsaw (POL) in the finals.

Medals and awards were presented by Mr Alberto Gualtieri, Honorary President of the European University Sports Association (EUSA), Mr Milan Zvan, President of the Slovenian University Sports Association (SUSA), Matjaz Pecovnik, Secretary General of the European University Sports Association (EUSA), Mr Rok Strasek, Prorector of the University of Primorska.

The Most valuable player (MVP) award was given to Strahinja Stojacic from the University of Nis in men’s competition and to Sara Plavljanin from the University of Zagreb in women’s competition. The Best rebounder (BR) award was given to Şanli Sertac from Fatih University and Katarzyna Sobczynska from the University of Warsaw. The Best shooter (BS) award was given to Roman Mackowiak from the University of Strasbourg in male and to Alina-Mihaela Chivu from University "1 Decembrie 1918" ALBA IULIA in female competition.

Award was presented by Mr Marko Juretic, president of the Organising Committee, Mr  Patrik Perosa, EUSA Sport Manager, Mr Peter George, EUSA Technical Delegate Basketball and Mrs Pascale Wievers, Assistant Technical Delegate Basketball.

EUSA Secretary General Mr Pecovnik awarded special recognitions to the representatives of the volunteers. The Fair Play award was given to women team from University of Aveiro because of good sport behaviour during the championship, presented by Mr Miroslav Cerar, Vice-President of the European Fair Play Movement.


The EUSA flag was passed from hands of Mr Marko Juretic, President of the OC of the 13th European Universities Basketball Championship to Matjaz Pecovnik, EUSA Secretary General and forward to the next organizer of the Championship, dr. Csaba Deak, chancellor of the University of Miskolc.


While basketball will be one of the key sports at the European Universities Games Zagreb-Rijeka 2016, the next Championship will take place in Miskolc, Hungary in 2017. All teams are warmly welcomed to join the next EUSA Basketball events!

The final standings can be found on website HERE and all the the photos HERE.

1. Fatih University (TUR)
2. University of Nis (SRB)
3. University of Bologna (ITA)

1. University of Zagreb (CRO)
2. University of Warsaw (POL)
3. University of Strasbourg (FRA)